I have always had some “dream” to keep me going in life… The biggest dream I ever had has come true… I had my share of celebrating it… Now I’m stuck!!! What next?? 

what next??

Initially they were short term dreams… like pass my exams with so and so percentage, cause Mamma said she’ll buy me a Barbie doll…. Or… Wait for Pappa to come home and take us to the beach to play in the sand… Or… look forward to the weekend cause I will be going out with friends for my biggest birthday party ever… Life was a lot simpler as a kid… Always there would be something… may be small… and yet awesome to look forward to!

As I grew up to be a teenager, the romantic side of my brain started to develop a lot more than the other sides… I guess all those romantic novels had something to do with it… So… my dream was to meet the ‘Prince Charming’… the one man who will love me truely… who will come on a horse/ cool bike and tell me that I am the prettiest girl he has ever seen… with the sweetest voice he has ever heard… and we will go out in the woods/ water theme park… splash water on each other in the lake/ swimming pool… sing songs… fall in love… Some fear… some joy… and a lot of love… And the best part of the dream was… wearing a white wedding gown that flowed behind me and I would walk blissfully down the aisle to my love… and be pronounced as man and wife, under the star studded sky, beside the sea shore… and live happily ever after!!! Awwww…. the fondest dream of my life…

A few years down the lane and I start to realize that love is not exactly the fantasy idea I had… Its beautiful, alright… But its not always that rosey… You might meet a guy who does not come on a horse (obviously!), neither does he like to ride bikes cause he thinks its too dangerous in the Indian roads… You might meet him in some meeting when you are least expecting to meet your life partner… and definitly not dressed for the occassion… You might never get the luxury of going to a lake or a swimming pool with your guy… and finally when you do get a chance, they say… “No swimming in cotton clothes maam”… “Aww.. but just this ones, cause last time I came with family, there was no problem”… “Sorry maam! New rules” …. And worst of all… you might have to wear a saree for your wedding instead of a wedding gown…

But I have grown up… and I have realized that there are more important things to life than these fantasies… Yes… I have grown up… But the problem is… the small things in life is not so awesome any more… Barbie dolls?? ahh whats the big deal… Going to the beach… hmm nice… But I can drive and go anytime I want… whats the big deal… Birthday party… gosh… with my lil salary, a huge crunch on my spending for the whole month… hmm.. okay.. its fun… but common.. whats the big deal.. its there every year… today I pay for the bills cause its my party… next month she pays the bill for her party! Ohh… and the fondest of dreams of the prince charming!!! YES!! I found him… not- so- fascinating and yet interesting love story… got married… went for honeymoon… now living happily ever after… What Next??? That dream is also over!!! I wish the fairy tales continued on the life of the prince and the princess and elaborated the meaning of ‘lived happily ever after’!!!

Everything seems so point less… Work in a multi national company for a not so bad salary… whats the big deal… your work is easily replaceable… Live in an okay house with almost all necessary facilities… whats the big deal… so does everyone else in your neighbourhood… married the love of your life and living as a happy family… nice… and??? what is the purpose behind it all??? Why am I exisiting?? Whats the reason for my life??? Everything under the sun will loose its charm at some point of time… And finally we will realise it was all vanity… running after the wind… When all the time, you were created to know your creator!! This is eternal life that you might know Him… Only He can make you complete… Only the creator can explain to you the purpose of your life… the purpose of His creation…

I hope we are all able to realize the whole point of life/ living soon… By grace…

Sigh!!

