I am starting to get bored at home… I’m not planning to work right now… Want to finish my MBA and then search for a suitable job… or have kids… wait til they are grown up… and then start working… But recently I’m not in a mood to study either… I was wondering, why not have a baby right now… It’ll keep me engaged… So I spoke to my husband…. And he laughed!! Hmmm… He thought it was silly to think of having a baby just cause I’m bored and want something to do… That was not the only reason ofcourse… But I didn’t know how to explain to him… So just left the topic…

The next day he said he wanted to watch the old movie “Bombay”… and we watched it… Huh!!! I guess he wanted me to see the seriousness of having a baby through that movie… or may be it was just a coincidence that the movie showed the dangers that kids went through in this crazy world that we live in now…

For those who haven’t seen the movie, its about a hindu guy, Shekhar who falls in love with a muslim girl, Shaila… Their families opose this relationship, but due to the pressure they leave to Bombay and get married… A few months later, Shaila becomes pregnant and gives birth to twins, Kabir Narayan and Kamal Basheer. The twins are raised in both religions.  Meanwhile, in India, religious extremism launches each community against the other, causing a wave of Hindu/Muslim riots that leave hundreds dead in Bombay. The grandparents come to Bombay out of concern for their children and grandchildren… The family is united again… However, during this tensed situation, the parents of Shekhar and Shaila get burnt in their house by the religious extremists and they lose their children in the city twice… They eventually get their children back… but the kids are totaly scared and shattered… and so is the whole family!

Say its coincidence… but I’ve been seeing so many movies recently and all that shows how corrupted the society is and how dangerous it is especially for kids… To name a few of the movies I saw recently, the hindi movie ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ and a little old tamil movie ‘Anniyan’

Now I am thinking twice about having kids… the responsiility that comes with it… and the helpless situations that we may come across in this world with the little ones!!!

Only one hope we have in such a scarey world… Its the song I heard for the New Year Service by William. J. Gaither that comes to mind…

”   How sweet to hold a newborn baby,
    And feel the pride and joy he gives;
    But greater still the calm assurance:
    This child can face uncertain days because He Lives!

Chorus
     Because He lives, I can face tomorrow,
     Because He lives, all fear is gone;
     Because I know He holds the future,
     And life is worth the living,
     Just because He lives!
                        “

