Recently, my husband gifted me a sketch pad, a box of poster colors and paint brushes on our anniversary… I was thrilled to learn a new art and I decided to do some reserach on it. I was surprised to see so many Youtube videos on painting lessons and any other lessons for that matter! We are definitly a blessed generation, atleast when it comes to technology. After a few videos, I decided that just watching is no good. Its like studing theology, going to all the conventions, watching God TV all day long, but not living the life of a true christian. So I decided to put the brush on the paper… And here goes my first attempt at painting…

 

Not bad huh? I feel very proud of my work.. 😉 And I dont believe in false humility 😛 

I loved spending time and correcting the sketch, the colors, the strokes and mixing the paints and neutralising the textures… I enjoyed perfecting my picture as much as creating it… God also loves perfecting me as much as He loved creating me… God says “I’ve known you even before you were formed in your mother’s womb”… Its like He had a vision of who I should be and He started painting my life… a few paint strokes every day… It has always been hard for me to be patient and persevere to overcome all the sins in me that keep showing itself up from time to time… But my God who perfects me is patient and a great painter! Thank God!

I also noticed that there were some paints in the picture that didnt seem to go well together initially.. But it went great when I looked at the whole picture… Just like how certain things in life dont make sense initially… but only the creator who can see the bigger picture can understand…  The white dress that girl is wearing in my painting kept getting dirty with all the green and brown I had to paint around it… But God promises that thought our sins are like scarlet, He will make them as white as snow… But just like in a painting, if wax falls on the paper, its not possible to paint, because the paint wouldn’t stick to the paper till the wax is removed… So also when sin is there in our lives God cant dwell in us till the sin is removed… The more often we play with wax/ sin, the longer it takes for Him to remove the wax/ sin and perfect the painting…

I have heard so often that God loves you.. delights in you.. and so on.. But I have struggled to really understand how He could delight in me/ us who are so full of nonsense! But when I painted this picture and ceated something colorful and beautiful on a plain sheet of paper, I realised how much I could love my hands work inspite of its imperfetions… And so I have a small glimpse of how much God delights in me inspite of my imperfections… and is waiting to perfect me too… So relax and rest in His love… like the girl in my painting 😀

